Skip navigation, view current journal content

Link off site to Elsevier
Skip current jounal content; view page content

Volume 62, December 2021

Social presence in online writing instruction: Distinguishing between presence, comfort, attitudes, and learning
Mary K. Stewart

Circulatory interfaces: Perpetuating power through practices, content, and positionality
Corinne Jones

Google Docs or Microsoft Word? Master's students' engagement with instructor written feedback on academic writing in a cross-cultural setting
Murad Abdu Saeed Mohammed, Musheer Abdulwahid AL-Jaberi

“Anyone? Anyone?”: Promoting inter-learner dialogue in synchronous video courses
Kimberly Fahle Peck

Phenomenology of writing with unfamiliar tools in a semi-public environment: A case study
Philip B. Gallagher, Philippe Meister, David R. Russell

A web-based feedback platform for peer and teacher feedback on writing: An Activity Theory perspective
Sandra Tsui Eu Lam

Analyzing writing fluency on smartphones by Saudi EFL students
Bradford J. Lee, Ahmed A. Al Khateeb

Digital surveillance in online writing instruction: Panopticism and simulation in learning management systems
Eric James York

Using automated feedback to develop writing proficiency
Yue Huang, Joshua Wilson

Book Review: ePortfolios@edu what we know, what we don't know, and everything in-between, Mary Ann Dellinger and D. Alexis Hart. WAC Clearinghouse (2020)
Sandra J. Keele

Book Review: Rhetorical delivery and digital technologies: Networks, affect, electracy, Sean Morey. Routledge (2016)
Addison Lamb

Composing (with/in) extended reality: How students name their experiences with immersive technologies
Amy J. Lueck, Christine M. Bachen

Sound, captions, action: Voices in video composition projects
Janine Butler, Stacy Bick

Coalitional literacies of digital safety and solidarity: A white paper on nextGEN international listserv
Sweta Baniya, Sara Doan, Ashanka Kumari, Gavin P. Johnson, Virginia M. Schwarz

Book Review: How Writing Faculty Write: Strategies for Process, Product, and Productivity, Christine Tulley, University Press of Colorado (2018)
Teresa Scott

Book Review: Bridging the Multimodal Gap: From Theory to Practice, Santosh Khadka, J.C. Lee (Eds.). Utah State University Press, Logan, UT (2019)
Ann M. Arbaugh



Computers and Composition Awards

Computers and Composition Charles Moran Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field

For the 2020 Awards, the dates of eligibility include both 2019 and 2020, to account for the impact on the COVID-19 pandemic on the nomination process.

The Charles Moran Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field, inaugurated in 2003 in honor of the 20th anniversary of Computers and Composition, recognizes exemplary scholarship and professional service to the field of computers and writing.

The award celebrates the first 20 years of the journal (1983-2003) in which Charles Moran not only contributed over 30 publications-books, articles, chapters-to the profession but also supported the growth of the journal and field in multiple ways as a valued member of the Computers and Composition Editorial Board. We can think of no other person who better exemplifies what it means to be an esteemed scholar and colleague in these rapidly changing times of the information age.

The award is also designed to complement the journal's other awards--the Hugh Burns Dissertation Award, the Ellen Nold Best Article Award, and the Distinguished Book Award--all presented annually at the Computers and Writing Conference. The Charles Moran Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field will be given at the Computers and Writing Conference.

Please send letters of nomination for the Charles Moran Award outlining the candidate's ongoing contributions to the field in scholarship and service by March 15 to:

Dr. Kristine L. Blair
Charles Moran Award
McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Duquesne University
Pittsburgh, PA 15282

Charles Moran Award Recipients

Scott Lloyd DeWitt
The Ohio State University

Patricia Sullivan
Purdue University

Jody Shipka
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Cheryl Ball
Wayne State University

Stephanie Vie
University of Central Florida

Douglas Eyman
George Mason University

Richard (Dickie) Selfe
The Ohio State University

Danielle Nicole DeVoss
Michigan State University

Gail Hawisher
University of Illinois
Cynthia Selfe
The Ohio State University

Carl Whithaus
University of California, Davis

Jonathan Alexander
University of California, Irvine

Kristine Blair
Bowling Green State University

David Blakesley
Purdue University

Nick Carbone
Bedford/St. Martin's

James Kalmbach
Illinois State University

Michael Day
Northern Illinois University

Janice R. Walker
Georgia State University

Mike Palmquist
Colorado State University