Skip navigation, view current journal content

Link off site to Elsevier
Skip current jounal content; view page content


Computers and Composition Awards

Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award

For the 2020 Awards, the dates of eligibility include both 2019 and 2020, to account for the impact on the COVID-19 pandemic on the nomination process.

To acknowledge and support the growth and acceptance of scholarship, research, and teaching in our field, we present on an annual basis the Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award. The award honors book-length works that contribute in substantial and innovative ways to the field of computers and composition.

In recognition of the changing nature of publications in computers and composition research, theory, and practice, the Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award is open to not only printed and bound books but also large hypertexts, multimedia programs, and Web sites. The Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award complements existing awards for best article (the Ellen Nold Award) and best dissertation (the Hugh Burns Award). Computers and Composition will honor the winner during an awards presentation held during the Computers and Writing Conference. Winners will receive a plaque.

To nominate a book for the Distinguished Book Award, the nominator must write a letter outlining the ways in which the work contributes to scholarship, research, and teaching in computers and composition, and submit the letter and three copies of the book (or arrange to have the publisher send three copies of the book). Potential categories of emphasis for nomination include originality of research and/or application, methodological sophistication, and scope of work.

Deadline for nominations is March 15. Send nominations for the Computers and Composition Distinguished Book Award to:

Dr. Kristine L. Blair
Distinguished Book Award
McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Duquesne University
Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Distinguished Book Award Recipients

Jessica Reyman, Northern Illinois University
Erika Sparby, Illinois State University
Digital Ethics: Rhetoric and Responsibility in Online Aggression, Routledge.

Honorable Mention
Kathryn Comer, Portland State University
Michael Harker, Georgia State University
Ben McCorkle, The Ohio State University at Marion
The Archive as Classroom: Pedagogical Approaches to the Digital Archive of Literacy Narratives, Computers and Composition Digital Press/USU Press.

Derek Mueller, Virginia Tech
Network Sense: Methods for Visualizing a Discipline, WAC Clearinghouse and UPC.

Alexandra Hidalgo, Michigan State University
Cámara Retórica: A Feminist Filmmaking Methodology for Rhetoric and Composition, CCDP.

Timothy Laquintano, Lafayette College
Mass Authorship and the Rise of Self-Publishing, Iowa.

Jim Ridolfo, University of Kentucky
William Hart-Davidson, Michigan State University
Rhetoric and the Digital Humanities, Chicago.

Jonathan Alexander, University Of California, Irvine
Jacqueline Rhodes, California State University, San Bernardino
On Multimodality: New Media In Composition Studies, NCTE.

Bump Halbritter, Michigan State University
Mics, Cameras, Symbolic Action: Audio-Visual Rhetoric For Writing Teachers, Parlor Press

Cheryl Ball, Illinois State University
Debra Journet, University of Louisville
Ryan Trauman, University of Louisville
The New Work of Composing, Computers and Composition Digital Press/Utah State University Press.

Susan Delagrange, Ohio State University at Mansfield
Technologies of Wonder: Rhetorical Practice in a Digital World

Bradley Dilger, Western Illinois University
Jeff Rice, University of Kentucky
From A to <A>: Keywords of Markup

Collin Gifford Brooke, Syracuse University
Lingua Fracta: Toward a Rhetoric of New Media

Michelle Sidler, Auburn University
Richard Morris, Parkland College
Elizabeth Overman Smith, Tennessee State University
Computers in the Composition Classroom

Heidi A. McKee, Miami University
Dànielle Nicole DeVoss, Michigan State University
Digital Writing Research: Technologies, Methodologies, and Ethical Issues

Adam Banks, Syracuse University
Race, Rhetoric, and Technology

Luuk Van Waes, University of Antwerp
Mariëlle Leijten, University of Antwerp
Christine M. Neuwirth, Carnegie Mellon University
Writing and Digital Media

John Willinsky, University of British Columbia
The Access Principle: The Case for Open Access to Research and Scholarship

Anne Wysocki, Michigan Technological University
Johndan Johnson-Eilola, Clarkson University
Cynthia L. Selfe, The Ohio State University
Geoffrey Sirc, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Writing New Media: Theory and Application for Expanding the Teaching of Composition

Stuart A. Selber, Pennsylvania State University
Multiliteracies for a Digital Age

Joe Moxley, University of South Florida
College Writing Online

Pam Takayoshi and Brian Huot, Kent State (Eds.)
Teaching Writing with Computers: An Introduction

Scott L. DeWitt, The Ohio State University
Writing Inventions: Identities, Technologies, Pedagogies

Michael Joyce
, Vassar College
Othermindedness: The Emergence of Network Culture

Cynthia L. Selfe, The Ohio State University
Gail E. Hawisher
, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (Eds.)
Passions, Pedagogies, and 21st Century Technologies

James Porter, Michigan State University
Rhetorical Ethics and Internetworked Writing